Art Perspective: Made by Mattie Beau – Ericka Douresseau

I interviewed Ericka a couple of years ago, a fellow jewelry designer! Read about her and her unique style.

C Dyann: Hello Ericka, thank you for joining us today to talk about your jewelry line, Made by Mattie Beau.

Ericka: Thank you for taking the time out to talk with me.

C Dyann: How long have you been designing jewelry?

Ericka: I began making jewelry in 2005. I initially bought a pair of pliers to fix a necklace. I continued jewelry making as a hobby and turned it into a business January 2012.

Made by Mattie
C Dyann: Who or what motivates you?

Ericka: No single who or what motivates me. For years I prayed that God would reveal my gift to me and he did (I just didn’t know it yet!). I create when & what the spirit tells me to create. 

C Dyann: There are so many jewelry artists on the scene right now. What sets you apart from the rest?

Ericka: What sets me apart from other jewelry designers is that I create one-of-a-kind pieces. 75-80% of my pieces are one of a kind and these days most folks appreciate owning jewelry that no one else has. I will duplicate some pieces, but it depends on my time and if I feel I should duplicate a particular piece.

C Dyann: What advice would you pass on to aspiring jewelry artists?

Ericka: My advice to aspiring jewelry artists: Do you!! Don’t let other folks, haters and naysayers distract you from your creative vision. I have had people advise me on how I should create or how I should alter a particular piece, but I stuck with my original creation and things worked out fine. I can’t stress enough to all artists to be themselves. It is personally fulfilling and extremely satisfying when you allow yourself to follow your dreams, whatever they may be!! Be concerned with creating what makes you happy.

C Dyann: If you could pick one celebrity to wear and promote your brand, who would it be?

Ericka: I would have to say Beyonce. I would love for her to wear something of mine on stage or in a photo opportunity (who wouldn’t want Beyonce to advertise their brand!), but I would really love it if she had one of my pieces as one of her favorite go to pieces for a day of shopping or a trip to the grocery store or to one of Ivy Blues Dr. appointments!! 

C Dyann: Where can we find your jewelry?

Ericka: Visit Made by Mattie Beau on Facebook.

C Dyann: Thank you again, Ericka for being a guest on our blog. We look forward to seeing more of your work in the weeks and months to come!

Leave a Reply

