Art Perspective: Tiffany Leonard of Tiffany’s Delectables

Disclaimer: Tiffany’s Delectables are addictive…

With that out of the way, not only is Tiffany a sweet person, she can bake a mean cupcake! Another interview from the 2012 archives.

C Dyann: Hello Tiffany, thank you for joining us! How did you decide to create Tiffany’s Delectables? 

Tiffany: Tiffany’s Delectables was created when I was laid off my job from a mortgage company and Christmas approached us and I still hadn’t found a job. My daughter and I baked cookies and brownies for family and friends in the place of giving gifts for Christmas and the response from our gifts was overwhelming. We started baking five years ago this December and I did not come up with a name for Tiffany’s Delectables until about three years ago. 

T Delectables

C Dyann:  You design your baked goods to not only be mouth-watering delicious, but visually appealing as well. How do you develop the various themes and motifs that we’ve seen in your work?

Tiffany: Well my themes come from whatever creations I have going on for the moment. Sharing pictures of my baked goods on social media is one way I interact with customers to see what they think about what I’ve created. I am a firm believer that if it’s not appealing to the eye who would want to eat it? And with that being said, that is why I try to take good pictures of all my work. Secondly, it doesn’t have to just look fancy and pretty but it has to taste good as well, I never want my customers to say it looked pretty but tasted horrible.  

C Dyann: You recently transitioned from working at a desk job to becoming an entrepreneur. What are the risks and rewards?

Tiffany: The risks of not working a 9 to 5 is if you’re not driven and well grounded in what you are doing you may not make it. Everyday is a struggle and you have to  push yourself, network and make connections even when you don’t feel like it. Becoming an entrepreneur full-time takes work and you have to believe and encourage yourself at times, you know, be your own cheerleader. I have to say the rewards are being around to spend time with my children and being able to call the shots.  

C Dyann: Where do you want to take Tiffany’s Delectables, what is your goal?

Tiffany: My goals for Tiffany’s Delectables is to become a household name worldwide and we would like to own cafes where people can come and experience us in person and have a cup of coffee or tea with their delectables.

C Dyann: A career in culinary arts requires a great deal of personal energy and drive, what motivates you and keeps you going?

Tiffany: I get my motivation from my customers, I think that if the customer is happy with my creations that’s all that matters. I love making my customer’s vision happen. What keeps me going are my children and knowing that they love and respect who I am as their mother and as a business woman.

C Dyann: What does a typical day look like for you?

Tiffany: A typical day for me starts with prayer, being a mother to my children, running errands, posting advertisement and interacting with my fans via Facebook,Twitter, emails and phone calls and of course baking.

C Dyann: In ten words or less, how would you describe your business and what do you want your customers to know about you?

Tiffany: We want our customers to taste and feel the love through our Delectables.

C Dyann: Thank you for taking time out of your busy schedule to talk with us!

Tiffany: You’re welcome, it was a pleasure!

C Dyann: Where can we find Tiffany’s Delectables?

Tiffany: We’re on Facebook at http://www.facebook.com/TiffanysDelectablesCookies. You can also go directly to our website – http://www.tiffanysdelectables.com or give us a call at 925-594-0147.

Leave a Reply

