Art Perspective: Rosalyn Parhams Ceramic Artist

This is another repost from my old blog – enjoy.

Every once in a while we try to highlight creative people whose art we appreciate and admire. We have yet to see Rosalyn’s ceramic arts up close and personal, but we can’t wait! In the meantime, we were lucky enough to catch up with her for a little chat. 

C Dyann: What is the name of your company?

Rosalyn Parhams: My company name is Rosalyn Parhams Ceramic Artist.

C Dyann: How did you get your start with ceramics?

Rosalyn Parhams: I started working with clay in the 1980’s when I attended my first pottery class in Philadelphia. I didn’t get back to it until 1999 when I took a pottery class at the local community college where I live, and I have stuck with it ever since.

Rosalyn Parhams

C Dyann: Who and/or what inspires you?

Rosalyn Parhams: I am inspired by the mysticism of folk art, religious iconography, and ancient artifacts of Africa and the Americas. I like to visit historic sites and museum collections to connect with ancient peoples. I am fascinated with their abilities to reach supernatural realms through their ceremonial objects.  I have always been creative and my parents were very encouraging – my mother was very gifted with hand crafted items and my father was great with tools and mechanics. When creating my pieces, I strive to combine ceramics with found objects in a style that is reminiscent of tribal art. I want to create art that has a spiritual aesthetic and creates a bridge to our past.

C Dyann: Tell us a little bit about you, where are you from and where do you live now?

Rosalyn Parhams: I was born and raised in Newark, N.J., but I live in Fairfield, California.

C Dyann: Is your artwork something you’re able to do full-time, or do you have to fit it into a busy schedule?

Rosalyn Parhams: My art is something that I do part time, because of my work schedule, but after I retire, I will do it full time.

C Dyann: Do you have any advice for anyone who wants to become as skilled as you are right now?

Rosalyn Parhams: PRACTICE, PRACTICE, PRACTICE!  Staying in constant touch with your medium will keep you grounded and humble because there is always something new to learn about it and your relationship with it.

You can find out more about Rosalyn Parhams and her artwork at http://www.ceramicartbyroz.com/.

Leave a Reply

